Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys Michigan
Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys in the Greater Macomb County Area
Arrested for Drunk Driving? Call Now for Help!
In Michigan, you are considered to be driving under the influence of alcohol if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or higher. Your BAC is calculated mainly through three different types of tests: urine tests, blood tests and breath tests. These tests do have limitations and are all capable of error.
A skilled attorney for drunk driving will be aware of the different types of technology used in determining a person’s BAC and know how to rebut evidence gained from such devices. Often times, instruments are not properly calibrated; sometimes instruments measure things other than alcohol, and sometimes instruments and samples are not properly cared for.
In addition to being asked to complete a BAC test, law enforcement officers can ask those alleged to be driving drunk to complete a range of field sobriety tests. Field sobriety tests are voluntary tests that you do not have to perform. (You may still be penalized for not taking these voluntary tests with a license suspension in some states including Michigan.) If field sobriety tests are not performed properly, they can provide evidence of intoxication. A skilled drunk-driving defense lawyer should be able to argue on your behalf if a field sobriety test was improperly conducted.
In November of 2010, a new law went into effect in Michigan stating that if your BAC was .17 or higher, you were considered “super drunk.” This new law imposes higher fines, an automatic one-year license suspension and up to 180 days in jail.
If you or a loved one is charged with a drunk-driving offense, retain an attorney immediately, and refrain from making any statements about the matter to anyone, especially the police, until you have had an opportunity to discuss it with your attorney.